Utah Department of Corrections
*** Learn how to save money on making and receiving inmate phone calls ***
While assigned to the R&O unit an inmate may call once a week either on Saturday or Sunday. After the inmate moves to a different housing unit, it will depend upon the inmate's privilege matrix. In some units an inmate may make a 15-minute call once a day.
- Calls made on the inmate housing telephones are collect calls. The charge is placed on your telephone bill. The telephone company regulates this charge. When you answer a telephone call, a recorded message will tell you that the call is coming from the prison and will ask you if you will accept the charge. The message will explain to you how to accept the charge.
Utah county jail
The prison staff does not accept telephone messages for inmates. (In case of emergencies, staff will verify and evaluate the emergency first, before deciding whether to deliver the message.)
- Inmates, while on the R&O unit, fill out a telephone request form to have your telephone number approved. The form requests your name, address, telephone number and relationship to the inmate. Your telephone number is cleared through a computer system for the inmate to call you.
- Common areas of the Utah County Jail have telephones that look like normal pay-phones, but you can only call people collect on them.The phone will announce you are in the jail.
- The calls cost between $4-5 and you get 15 minutes to talk (though the phones actually don't cutoff until you've been talking for 20 minutes).
- The telephones in the Utah County Jail will only allow you to call land-line telephones (ie, no cell phones).
- Calling cell phones is not allowed.
- In the work release program or Jail Industries you will have access to regular payphones that only cost 50 cents per call (with unlimited time limits). Each dorm has only two phones (and 18-30 inmates) so finding an available phone can be difficult at times. One can dial 800 numbers for free so you can have somebody on the outside give you a code for a calling card. There are two types of calling cards you can buy:
- Cards with extremely low rates per minute, but a relatively high connection fee.
- Cards with low rates (but not as low as number 1) without any connection).
One of the best resources for calling cards is CallingCards.com. Most calling cards do charge a special connection fee to be used from a pay phone. Every inmate should have a calling card available for an emergency. Inmates are only allowed to have $20 in the annex at any given time.
- If you need to call your lawyer the guards are supposed to allow you to use a jail telephone so the call is not charged to you. This is more common in the annex, but most law firms will accept collect calls from the blocks so you should be able to get hold of your lawyer if you need to.
Don't miss our guide to making Inmate Phone Calls
Learn more about Inmate Telephone Service, the Inmate Telephone System, Inmate Telephone Service Providers or Contact Us
Get a local phone number anywhere $8.33/mo
Search The Web:
Alabama (AL) | Alaska (AK) | American Samoa (AS) | Arizona (AZ) | Arkansas (AR) | California (CA) | Colorado (CO) | Connecticut (CT) | Delaware (DE) | District of Columbia (DC) | Florida (FL) | Georgia (GA) | Hawaii (HI) | Idaho (ID) | Illinois (IL) | Indiana (IN) | Iowa (IA) | Kansas (KS) | Kentucky (KY) | Louisiana (LA) | Maine (ME) | Marshall Islands (MH) | Maryland (MD) | Massachusetts (MA) | Michigan (MI) | Minnesota (MN) | Mississippi (MS) | Missouri (MO) | Montana (MT) | Nebraska (NE) | Nevada (NV) | New Hampshire (NH) | New Jersey (NJ) | New Mexico (NM) | New York (NY) | North Carolina (NC) | North Dakota (ND) | Ohio (OH) | Oklahoma (OK) | Oregon (OR) | Pennsylvania (PA) | Puerto Rico (PR) | Rhode Island (RI) | South Carolina (SC) | South Dakota (SD) | Tennessee (TN) | Texas (TX) | Utah (UT) | Vermont (VT) | Virginia (VA) | Virgin Islands (VI) | Washington (WA) | West Virginia (WV) | Wisconsin (WI) | Wyoming (WY)